The Nickelodeon, officially incorporated as the Columbia Film Society, is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors which holds ultimate responsibility for the conduct of the organization.  The Board sets the organization’s strategic direction and selects, evaluates, and assists the Executive Director, who manages regular operations.

Board of Directors

Members of the Board are elected each fall by the membership.  Directors serve three-year terms and may be reelected a maximum of two times.  Board leadership is exercised by the Executive Committee, which includes the President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Past-President.

The Executive Director is responsible for the overall management of the organization.  Key members of the leadership team include the Community Programming and Engagement Coordinator, the Marketing and Development Coordinator, and the Theatre Operations Manager.  Together they refine and implement the Nickelodeon’s ambitious mission and vision while maintaining its operational and financial health.

David Whiteman

Retired USC Professor of Political Science and Film Studies, UofSC

Board President (term expires 2024)

Heather Bauer

Consultant III at Benefitfocus, Co-Owner Warrior Fitness

Vice President (term expires 2025)

David Palkovitz, CFP

Wealth Management Advisor at Apollon Wealth Management, LLC

Treasurer (Term Expires 2025)

Tiffany Adams

Pastor, The Way Worship Center

Secretary (term expires 2024)

Dr. Angela Blalock

Chair of the Music Department, Allen University

Board Member (term expires 2025)

Joseph M. McCulloch, Jr.

Attorney, McCulloch & Schillaci

Board Member (term expires 2025)

Francie Kleckley

Privacy and Data Consultant, Burnette Shutt & McDaniel

Board Member (term expires 2023)

George Wolfe

Retired Partner, Nelson Mullins

Board Member (term expires 2024)

Johnnie Matthews

VP of Operations, Heritage Brands

Board Member (Term Expires 2026)

Jennifer D. Capell, CPA

Vice President Finance, Corporate Controller, BlueCross BlueShield South Carolina

Board Member (Term Expires 2026)

Ebony D. Green, M.Ed., JD

Owner, Business and Books, LLC

Board Member (Term Expires 2026)

Kristopher Jones

Director, Brookland Foundation

Board Member (Term Expires 2026)

Board Documents

  • 2023 Annual Membership Meeting (Video)
  • 2022 Annual Membership Meeting (Video)